Arrested or charge with a crime? Contact a Kent, WA criminal lawyer now!
Washington State Criminal Defense
Serving criminal traffic clients throughout King County
Kent Negligent Driving Attorneys
A conviction can have a huge impact on your insurance premiums.
Being cited for Negligent Driving is NOT a conviction!
We'll fight to keep our insurance rates low.
A Negligent Driving conviction is a nightmare when it comes to your insurance rates. Our lawyers can explain why.
First and Second Degree Negligent Driving lawyers serving Washington State. All Kent Municipal and King County District Court driving crimes handled.
There are several different degrees of Negligent driving – but all should be taken seriously. Penalties can range from up to 90 days of jail to a 90 day license suspension and a $5,000 fine. It is important to consult an attorney as soon as you can to discuss your options as there may be important deadlines which could impact the outcome of your case. Our Negligent Driving attorneys are here to provide you with a free consultation on your Negligent Driving matter.
Negligent Driving 1° is a misdemeanor which means the maximum penalty is 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. Additionally, it typically comes with probation which includes a drug and alcohol evaluation, attendance of a victim impact panel, and court costs and assessments in addition to the fine. On top of all of this, a conviction can impact your ability to travel to other countries, including Canada! Negligent driving 1° is when you drive in a manner that is negligent and either endangers persons or property, or is likely to have endangered persons or property – while you were exhibiting the effects of having consumed liquor or an illegal drug.
Negligent Driving 2° is a little different. Instead of being a misdemeanor, it is a major moving violation infraction. – meaning, it is not a criminal case. This means the only penalty the guy can impose upon you is the fine of $550 and no jail. However, you should be aware of the fact that Negligent Driving 2° is the most serious infraction possible and insurance companies will treat it as such. The difference between 1° and 2° is that there are no drugs or alcohol involved.
The last type is Negligent Driving 2° with a vulnerable user victim. This is similar to the regular Negligent driving 2° except the driver is also the proximate cause of death, great bodily harm, or substantial bodily harm of a vulnerable user of the public roadway. While this charge may not be technically a crime, it can have severe penalties – ranging from a $5,000 fine to a 90 day license suspension. There are also important decisions that needed to be made quickly when facing one of these citations in order to properly fight them.
Whether you are facing a Negligent driving 1° or 2°, it is important to contact an attorney quickly so they can start preparing for your defense. Our Offices are ready to answer your questions and if you want, to get in between yourself and the prosecutors.